Skip navigation

I have been spending an inordinate amount of time lately tracking down pirates. No, not the ones at sea that plunder other ships. These pirates steal my images that I sell online and try to pass them off as their own, violating my intellectual property rights.

As you can see from my website, I sell my images and I create travel posters from my images, and other unscrupulous people seem to believe that my images are public-domain, but I’d like to set them straight and say, unequivocally, all my images are copyrighted and not in the public domain. Usage is not permitted for any purpose whatsoever without written permission from me. These photos and the posters I’ve created are mine. Keep your fucking grubby paws off my stuff.

I spend a lot of time and money creating these images—flights overseas, lodging, transportation, and the camera gear needed to capture these images isn’t cheap. These locations are not secret and you are welcome to travel to these locations and create your own image in the exact same locations. Just don’t steal my work.

I aggressively track down all copyright violators and give them one opportunity to remove the illegal work. If they continue to violate my intellectual property rights, I hand it over to the lawyers who pursue legal remedies and monetary awards. Don’t think that hiding behind a fake account will help you. You have to get paid somehow. PayPal and other money transfer apps will disclose your name and email when subpoenaed. Consider this: is it really worth paying thousands of dollars in legal fees and settlements to illegally sell my work for a few bucks? 

Leave a comment